Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
November 14, 2013

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board will convene its 261st quarterly meeting in Claremont and Los Angeles, California, November 18-19, 2013. The meeting will showcase the importance of the Fulbright Program to U.S. national interests and engagement in international education by Southern California institutions. Pitzer College, the country’s top producer of Fulbright students at bachelor’s institutions, will host the meeting.

Board Chairman Tom Healy and Board Member and Pitzer College President Laura Skandera Trombley will be available for media interviews.

On Monday, November 18, 2013, from 7 to 8:30 p.m. PST, the Board and Pitzer College will co-host a panel discussion, “Expanding Engagement through the Fulbright Program: Where in the World Can Fulbright Take You?” at the Pitzer College George C.S. Benson Auditorium (1050 North Mills Avenue, Claremont, California 91711).

The event is open to the public and will be streamed live at Panelists include:

Nigel Boyle, Director, Institute for Global/Local Action & Study, Pitzer College (Moderator);

Ben Ball, 1998 Student to Turkey; Senior Policy Advisor, Department of Homeland Security;

Janice Cho, 2011 Student to Belgium; Comparative Genomics Researcher and Medical School Student;

Amy Jasper, 2010 Student to Cyprus; Account Associate, Griffin|Schein Political Consultancy;

Paul Kim, 2011 Student to Thailand; Navy Veteran; Business Development Consultant; and

Mauricio Pantoja, 2008 Student to Mexico; Graduate Student, Duke University.

On Tuesday, November 19, from noon to 1:45 p.m. PST, media are invited to cover the program “Fulbright & the National Interest: Sharing Who We Are with the World,” co-hosted by Pitzer College and the Los Angeles World Affairs Council, at The California Club (538 S. Flower Street, Los Angeles 90071).

Featured speakers include:

Terry McCarthy, President, Los Angeles World Affairs Council (Master of Ceremonies);

Evan Ryan, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs (Keynote Speaker);

Laura SkanderaTrombley, President, Pitzer College; Member, Fulbright Board; and

Tom Healy, Chairman, J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, appointed by the President of the United States, was established by the U.S. Congress to supervise the Fulbright Program, set worldwide policies, and select all U.S. and foreign participants. The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. government's flagship international exchange program. Supported by the people of the United States and partner countries, the Program has provided more than 325,000 participants from over 160 countries with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Media Contacts: Catherine Stearns,, 202-431-1594

Anna Chang,, 626-676-6883

PRN: 2013/1414