Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
November 23, 2012

On Wednesday, November 28th, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will present the 14th annual Secretary of State’s Award for Corporate Excellence (ACE). The ceremony will start at 10:30 a.m. in the Ben Franklin Room at the Department of State and will be followed by a reception in the Thomas Jefferson Room.

The prestigious ACE recognizes the important role of U.S. businesses in advancing good corporate governance and democratic principles worldwide. The award honors exemplary business practices, corporate social responsibility, and innovation in a company’s overseas operations.

This year 82 nominations were received for American companies operating in 54 countries. The winners were chosen by the Principals’ Award Selection Committee. The Committee, chaired by the Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment, includes a representative from the offices of the Secretary, the Under Secretary for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights, the Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs, the Under Secretary for Management, and the special representative for Global Partnerships. It also includes senior officials from the Overseas Private Investment Corporation, the U.S. Agency for International Development, the Millennium Challenge Corporation, and the Department of Commerce.

The 2012 ACE winners were selected from the following 11 finalists: Chevron in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan; Esso Angola in Luanda, Angola; General Motors in Tashkent, Uzbekistan; Intel Corporation in Vietnam; Intel Corporation in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Microsoft in Bangkok, Thailand; Microsoft in Cairo, Egypt; Microsoft in New Delhi, India; Rosalie Bay in Dominica, Sorwathé in Kigali, Rwanda; and Sustainable Mahogany Industries Ltd. in Suva, Fiji. The winners will be publicly and officially announced at the ACE ceremony.

After the Secretary announces the 2012 ACE winners in Washington, D.C., Under Secretary of State for Economic Growth, Energy and the Environment Robert D. Hormats will lead the interactive portion of the ceremony. U.S. Ambassadors and in-country company executives will participate from the U.S. Embassies that submitted the winning nominations, where simultaneous events are expected to take place.

The ceremony will be open to the press and streamed live on

Pre set for video cameras: 9:30 a.m. from the 23rd Street Entrance Lobby.
Final access time for journalists and still photographers: 10:15 a.m. from the 23rd Street Entrance Lobby.

For more information please contact Kerry Humphrey, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, (202) 647-0677 or the Office of Press Relations, U.S. Department of State, (202) 647-2492.

Media representatives may attend this briefing upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification (driver’s license or passport).

PRN: 2012/1837