Notice to the Press
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
April 17, 2012


On April 24, Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs Kurt Campbell, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs Ann Stock, and Chief Spokesperson for USA Pavilion 2012 Philippe Cousteau, Jr. will brief the press on the United States’ Pavilion at the World Expo 2012 Yeosu, including pavilion design, digital application, and the 2012 Student Ambassadors.

The briefing will occur at 10 a.m. at the U.S. Department of State’s Foreign Press Center, located at the National Press Club, 529 14th St. NW, Washington, DC. Media interested in participating in this briefing should RSVP to Andrea Corey at coreyad2@state.gov.

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton announced the United States’ participation in the 2012 World Expo in October 2011. Click here for more information.

In addition to the efforts to engage youth through the USA Pavilion, the Department of State will conduct a virtual student exchange in partnership with EarthEcho International, Global Nomads Group, and U.S. Embassy Seoul. Cousteau will lead a discussion around conservation of the oceans through video conference with American students from Campbell High School in Ewa Beach, Hawaii and students in Busan, Korea from the Korea Science Academy of Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology through Polycom video collaboration solutions. The virtual exchange will take place on Monday, April 23 at 2 p.m. Hawaii Time / 8 p.m. New York Time / Tuesday, April 24 at 9 a.m. South Korea Time. Media interested in watching and participating in this exchange should visit this link for more information.

For more information on the USA Pavilion 2012, go to http://www.pavilion2012.org/. Stay tuned for updates on Twitter @USAPavilion2012.



PRN: 2012/589