DipNote Blog Twitter Facebook Subscribe

If a scroll bar appears below the following table, swipe the table to move left/right of the dashed line.

The Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs deals with U.S. foreign policy and U.S. relations with the countries of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Description: Regional map of South and Central Asian Affairs.

The New Silk Road Post-2014: Challenges and Opportunities

Assistant Secretary Biswal (Jan. 22): "We are focused on building a regional energy market, facilitating trade and transport, improving customs and border procedures, and linking businesses and people. The success of these efforts will be critical for securing Afghanistan’s economic ties with its neighbors and creating important ties between Central and South Asian economies." Full Text»

U.S.-Pakistan Strategic Dialogue

Secretary Kerry (Jan.13): "Today's Strategic Dialogue was ... another opportunity for our two countries to build on that common ground. ... There's really no way to overstate the importance of our cooperation or the potential ... to improve our security and prosperity, and to improve it for the Pakistani people as a whole. And the American people will share in that." Full Text» Trip Page»

U.S.-India Strategic Partnership

Secretary Kerry (Jan. 11): "I want to begin by thanking Prime Minister Modi for his very generous welcome here to the Vibrant Gujarat Summit. And I particularly am grateful to him for the personal engagement, for the thorough discussion that we had on issues in the bilateral relationship, as well as for the preparation for President Obama's visit here. And I'm very grateful for the focus and critical thinking that he brought to this discussion over the last day-and-a-half." Full Text» Trip Page»