This office has the lead role on a variety of multilateral nonproliferation and disarmament issues, including: the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons; safeguards, nuclear security, and technical cooperation programs under the International Atomic Energy Agency; U.S. bilateral safeguards and sister laboratory arrangements; nuclear-weapon-free-zone treaties and protocols; security assurances; and G8 and EU (CONOP and CODUN) nonproliferation and disarmament dialogues. This office also plays a supporting role for nonproliferation-related issues such as the safeguards aspects of fissile material cutoff and nuclear testing.

In formulating and directing U.S. policies in the areas described above, MNSA provides day-to-day policy guidance to U.S. missions to international organizations and coordinates closely with other ISN or T bureau offices having substantive expertise in these areas. MNSA also coordinates closely with White House offices and other U.S. agencies, including the Departments of Commerce, Defense, and Energy; the Nuclear Regulatory Commission; the Intelligence Community; and U.S. diplomatic missions in New York (USUN), Geneva (USDEL/CD) and Vienna (UNVIE). MNSA also advances policies in these areas with the Congress, the American public, and foreign audiences, in coordination with the ISN office of Strategic Communications and Outreach and the Bureaus of International Information Programs, Legislative Affairs, and Public Affairs.

Officers serve on U.S. delegations to meetings of the IAEA’s Board of Governors and General Conference, NPT Parties, the UNGA First Committee, the G8 Nonproliferation Directors Group, and U.S.-EU bilateral consultations on nonproliferation. The office also conducts meetings with foreign governments, the United Nations and other international organizations.

Director: James Wayman