This page contains an IFRAME item that cannot be displayed on mobile devices.


Date: 02/18/2015 Description: NPT logo - State Dept Image

The Treaty on the Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons is the cornerstone of the nonproliferation regime. It entered into force in 1970, and 190 states have subscribed. The treaty covers three mutually reinforcing pillars—disarmament, nonproliferation, and peaceful uses of nuclear energy—and is the basis for international cooperation on stopping the spread of nuclear weapons. The basic bargain at the core of the NPT is sound: Countries with nuclear weapons will move towards disarmament; countries without nuclear weapons will not acquire them; and all countries can access peaceful nuclear technology.

What is the Nonproliferation Treaty?

Apr. 1: Message from Adam Scheinman, Special Representative for Nuclear Non-Proliferation Full Text»

The NPT Review Process

The Treaty allows for the Parties to gather every five years to review its operation. At the 1995 Review and Extension Conference, the Parties extended the Treaty indefinitely and formalized the practice of convening a Review Conference (RevCon) every five years, as well as holding Preparatory Committee meeting during each of the three years preceding a RevCon. The 2015 NPT RevCon will take place at the United Nations in New York from April 27-May 22. The U.S. looks forward to a constructive RevCon, and we pledge to work with others to reaffirm and strengthen the NPT as a critical element of our common security.

Key NPT Remarks and Documents

Contact Us: Ambassador Adam Scheinman is President Obama’s Special Representative for Nuclear Nonproliferation, and together with offices in ISN and AVC, he leads U.S. efforts in support of the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty. Questions and media inquiries should be directed to Sandra Postell at

[This is a mobile copy of Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty]

Short URL: